Census Of Indiana Territory for 1807

Census Of Indiana Territory for 1807

Regular price $20.00 Sale price $19.60
Unit price  per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Census Of Indiana Territory for 1807; by Rebah M. Fraustein; Cloth.; Complete name index; 57 pp; 8.5x11; Published: 1980, Reprint 1990; ISBN: 0-87195-056-1; Item # IHS013

The Indian Territory was established from the old Northwest Territory in 1800. Only three counties were formed before 1808, being Knox (1790), Clark (1801) and Dearborn (1803). Two Illinois counties  - St Clair (1790) and Randolph (1795) were also in Indian Territory whose capital was at Vincennes.

This volume includes a facsimile reproduction of the manuscripts of the 1807 Census which included free whites males over 21. The originals are in the William H. English Collection at the Indiana Historical Society Library. These copies copies of the handwritten documents (very cool!). The manuscripts for Knox, Dearborn, and Randolph counties are included in the volume. Clark has not been located. In its stead, the original 1807 county voters list is used. Also added was the Kaskaskia (Randolph County) 1807 voter's list.

Pages 45 to 57 are an every name index to the earlier hand-written pages.

This is a delightful book to include in your collection is you have earlier Indiana ancestry.